Now Being Written: ONE MORE GENIE

A few weeks ago, I got a fan email from a reader that made my day. The email said (I’m paraphrasing), “I bought Three More Wishes a year ago, and I’ve read it from front to back three times since then. I love it! Please write a sequel.”

I wrote back: “Thanks for the kind words, but I have no plans for a sequel.”

Well, the subconscious is a funny thing. As soon as he wrote me, I started coming up with ideas. And now I have enough of an idea to start writing the sequel. One More Genie is its title.

Here’s the premise—

Long ago, in order to prevent the Djinn War, King Solomon put six djinn into Vessels—two each from the Blue, Green, and Pink Tribes. Now Fatima is out of her lamp 99.9 percent of the time, and Jerngert is dead, which leaves four bound djinn trapped in their Vessels. (Vessels = brass lamps, brass bottles, or a hollow ring.)

(I’m ignoring the Brown Tribe djinni who is trapped in the hollow ring. His story isn’t relevant for this summary.)

Of those four Vessel-bound djinn, there is one djinni whom Fatima fiercely hates: Kharmesh of the Blue Tribe. In the Djinn War that King Solomon stopped before it started, Fatima and Kharmesh were enemies. On top of that, Fatima thinks Kharmesh is a jerk and an asshole. Fatima has never told Kharmesh that the true story of “Aladdin and his Lamp” is now famous, because otherwise Kharmesh would be even more conceited than he already is.

But now Vinnie, a mafia hit man, has found Kharmesh’s lamp, and has made his wishes. And you know that long list of wishing-rules where if you break one, you lose that wish and all remaining wishes? (Three More Wishes, Chapter 4.) Well, Vinnie has spotted a loophole in the rules.

Fatima and her master, Marvin Harper, don’t know it yet, but they’ve got problems.

Leave a Reply

